Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Soccer

MIT Captures the NEWMAC Women's Soccer Title on Penalty Kicks

Kim Rasmussen Box Score

Springfield, Mass. -- November 6, 2011 -- The women's soccer team from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology captured the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference post-season tournament title this afternoon at Brock-Affleck Field by defeating Springfield College on penalty kicks. The official score ended in a 1-1 tie, but MIT advanced to the NCAA Tournament by outscoring SC on penalty kicks 4-3.

MIT's overall record is now 14-3-3, while Springfield's overall record is now 14-3-2.

In the penalty kick phase of today's game, it came down to the final shot. It was sophomore midfiekder Rachel Dias Carlson (Albany, N.Y.) doing the honors for the Engineers. Her shot grazed the left goalpost and glanced in, beating SC junior goalkeeper Erin Greenstein (Framingham, Mass.). It proved to be the decider for the Engineers.

The penalty kicks had its twists and turns. Springfield led off with a miss, and MIT went up 1-0 after one turn after a make by junior forward Emily Kuo (Chicago, Ill.). It was 2-1, MIT, after two turns, and 2-2 after three turns It was 3-3 after four turns, and remained 3-3 after five turns.

On the sixth turn, Diaz Carlson came through.

Making MIT's kicks, besides Diaz Carlson, were Kuo, junior defender Andrea Park (Irvine, Caliif.), and freshman defender Michelle Battipaglia (Katonah, N.Y.). For Springfield, penalty kick scorers included freshman defender Kelly Haines (Easton, Conn.), senior midfielder Jackie Moscardelli (Weymouth, Mass.), and senior midfielder Jenelle Jahoda (Lebanon, Conn.).

In regulation play, it was Springfield that took the game's initial lead. With 3:50 left in the first half, it was sophomore forward Kim Rasmussen (East Berlin, Conn.) taking a cross from sophomore midfielder Ashley Carresi (Billerica, Mass.) and firing it past MIT junior goalkeeper Meghan Wright (Devon, Pa.).

It remained that way until fairly late in the game. With just 7:11 left in the contest, sophomore defender Samantha Fleischmann (Eastchester, N.Y.) took a shot off a corner kick and watched as it ricocheted off a Pride defender to tie matters at 1-all.

Wright was named the Tournament MVP for her outstanding play in net for the Engineers. She recorded six saves and added several key blocks during the shootout.

MIT thus receives the automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament as the NEWMAC representative.

Recruit Me

2013 Women's Soccer Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Gibson

John Gibson John Gibson, a native of London, England, enters his 14th season as head women's soccer at Springfield College in the fall of 2013. Gibson has led the Pride to the NCAA Tournament in six of the last eight years and has established the Pride as one of the top programs in the country. His clubs have registered an impressive a 165-75-21 record. Read more.

Contact Head John Gibson

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3170

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.