Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Cross Country

Men's Cross Country Places Third at NEWMAC Championships

Complete Results

Northampton, Mass - October 27, 2007 -- The Engineers of MIT swept both the women's and men's races this morning in the rain to take the 2007 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) titles. Today's victory was the 10th consecutive title for the men while the MIT women last won the event in 2003.

MIT placed five runners in the top fifteen to win the 5,000m meet with 50 points. Smith's Nora Youngs '10 (Penacook, NH) was the individual winner with a time of 19:09.80 earning Runner of the Year honors while MIT's Katy Gordon (Clinton, WA) was the top first year to place (14th) with a time of 20:03.70 garnering Rookie of the Year honors.

The men placed eight runners in the top ten to take the title with 18 points. MIT junior Jake Ruzevick (Coronado, CA), who was the Conference Rookie of the Year in 2005, earned Runner of the Year accolades today as the individual winner of the 8,000m race crossing the finish line in 25:58.10. First year Gihan Amarasiriwardena (Amherst, MA) earned Rookie of the Year as the top finishing first year (10th place overall) in a time of 26:43.80.

Mike Griffin (Scarborough, Maine) was the highest finisher for the Pride with a 15th place finish.

Men's Results
1. 18 points MIT
2. 52 points Coast Guard
3. 97 points Springfield
4. 99 points WPI
5. 161 points Wheaton
6. 174 points Clark
7. 176 points Babson

All Conference Team
1. Jake Ruzevick, MIT, 25:58.10
2. Yermie Cohen, MIT, 26:21.10
3. Mike Persun, C.Guard, 26:22.90
4. Joe Roy-Mayhew, MIT, 26:29.60
5. Hemagiri Arumugam, MIT, 26:31
6. Jack Bourbonnais, MIT, 26:33.30
7. Trevor Rundell, MIT, 26:37.7
Brian Jacokes, MIT, 26:37.7
9. Eric Laurel, C. Guard, 26:43.10
10. Gihan Amarasiriwardena, MIT, 26:43.80
11. Paul Welle, MIT, 26:45.20
12. Chris Bruce, MIT, 26:54.90
13. Zach Henninghauser, C. Guard, 27:02.30
14. Chris Gabrielson, WPI, 27:06.50

Runner of the Year
Jake Ruzevick, MIT

Rookie of the Year
Gihan Amarasiriwardena, MIT

Recruit Me

Men's Cross Country Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Bryan Brown

Head Coach Bryan Brown Bryan Brown will enter his third season as the head men's cross country coach in the fall of 2013. Brown, who was a former All-American at Springfield College in track, is the reigning NEWMAC Coach of the Year after leading Springfield to its second-straight second-place finish at the conference championships a year ago . Read more.

Contact Head Coach Brown

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.5418

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.