Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Cross Country

Women's Cross Country Finishes Sixth at NEWMAC Championships

Alyssa Brigham Complete Results

Northampton, Mass.-October 27, 2007--The Engineers of MIT swept both the women's and men's races this morning in the rain to take the 2007 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) titles. Today's victory was the 10th consecutive title for the men while the MIT women last won the event in 2003.

MIT placed five runners in the top fifteen to win the 5,000m meet with 50 points. Smith's Nora Youngs '10 (Penacook, NH) was the individual winner with a time of 19:09.80 earning Runner of the Year honors while MIT's Katy Gordon (Clinton, WA) was the top first year to place (14th) with a time of 20:03.70 garnering Rookie of the Year honors.

The men placed eight runners in the top ten to take the title with 18 points. MIT junior Jake Ruzevick (Coronado, CA), who was the Conference Rookie of the Year in 2005, earned Runner of the Year accolades today as the individual winner of the 8,000m race crossing the finish line in 25:58.10. First year Gihan Amarasiriwardena (Amherst, MA) earned Rookie of the Year as the top finishing first year (10th place overall) in a time of 26:43.80.

Alyssa Brigham (Penacook, N.H.) was named to the All-Conference Team after she placed 10th in the meet in a time of 19:55.90.

Women's Results
1. 50 points MIT
2. 72 points Wheaton
3. 106 points Wellesley
4. 118 points Smith
5. 124 points Mount Holyoke
6. 137 points Springfield
7. 164 points Coast Guard
8. 204 points Clark
9. 257 points WPI
10. 263 points Babson

All Conference Team
1. Nora Youngs,Smith ,19:09.80
2. Megan Brousseau, Wheaton, 19:23.0
3. Amanda Rawson, Wheaton, 19:31.70
4. Maria Monks, MIT, 19:36.30
5. Elizabeth Finn, MIT, 19:38.40
6. Emily Tremaine, Clark, 19:48.80
7. Anna Cressotti, Smith, 19:50.20
8. Kerry Shanley, Wellesley, 19:53.60
9. Lauren Reddy, Wheaton, 19:55.50
10.Alyssa Brigham, Springfield, 19:55.90
11. Sara McGuigan, C. Guard, 19:56.80
12. Jennifer Doyle, MIT, 19:57.70
13. Halaina Demba, Mt. Holyoke, 20:01
14. Katy Gordon, MIT, 20:03.70

Runner of the Year
Nora Youngs, Smith

Rookie of the Year
Katy Gordon, MIT

Recruit Me

Team Links

Head Coach Jim Pennington

Jim Pennington Jim Pennington enters his 29th season as head coach of the Springfield College women’s cross country and track and field teams in 2013. Under Pennington’s direction, the Pride has recorded seven top 20 finishes at the NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Track & Field Championships, and seven top 15 finishes at the NCAA Cross Country Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Pennington

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3351

Find Us On Facebook

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.