Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Cross Country

Experience Pays Dividends For The 2003 Edition Of Men's Cross Country

After a rebuilding 2002 season in which the Pride suffered several injuries and the graduation of five of its top six runners, SC has a deep and talented team ready to compete against the best teams in the region in ’03.

"Runners who might not have gotten the chance to compete in championship meets gained a lot of valuable experience because of the injuries we had to deal with," said head coach Mike Gauvin, who took over the program in ‘02. "This season, the people we have returning, along with a strong recruiting class, should help us take several steps to improving our standing in New England."

Although the roster features eight freshmen, Gauvin has high expectations for his upperclassmen. Returning for his second season as team captain is senior Pete Gillen who, along with junior captain Steve Wilson, provide solid leadership. Seniors Brian Pearsall, Eric Peloquin and Wes Maguire are also veteran distance men who Gauvin will look to for major contributions.

"There will be a lot of competition for the seven spots New England receives for the NCAA Championship race," added Gauvin. "Our goals are to win the NEWMAC Championship and finish in the top-10 at the NCAA Regional. Depending upon how our newcomers respond, these are realistic goals."
Recruit Me

Men's Cross Country Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Bryan Brown

Head Coach Bryan Brown Bryan Brown will enter his third season as the head men's cross country coach in the fall of 2013. Brown, who was a former All-American at Springfield College in track, is the reigning NEWMAC Coach of the Year after leading Springfield to its second-straight second-place finish at the conference championships a year ago . Read more.

Contact Head Coach Brown

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.5418

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.