Springfield College Home > Athletics > Field Hockey

Field Hockey Downs MIT, 2-0, In NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals

Jane Kelleher Box Score

Springfield, Mass. - November 1, 2008 – Paced behind a pair of goals from Jane Kelleher, the Springfield College field hockey team advanced past MIT, 2-0, in its quarterfinal contest in the 2008 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Tournament held on Saturday afternoon at Stagg Filed.

With the win the Pride will move on to the semifinals and will host WPI at 11am next Saturday at Brock-Affleck field on the campus of Springfield College. With the victory, the Pride look to win its fifth-straight conference championship.

Springfield improves to 13- 6 on the season, while MIT’s season comes to close with a 6-13 record.

Kelleher tallied the first goal of the game with just over 26 minutes to play in the first half as she ripped a shot from 12 yards out into the back of the cage. Her second tally came six minutes into the second half as she collected a rebound off a shot from teammate Alexa Carlson and slapped a shot into the back of the goal for her team-leading 16th goal of the season.

Freshmen goalkeepers Alison McCarthy and Kelleanne Salazar combined for the shutout victory, as neither made a save in the game.

For the Engineers, goalie Keri Doxon finished the game with 19 saves, as she faced 31 Springfield shots in the contest. MIT managed just one shot in the game, while the Pride enjoyed a 12-0 advantage in penalty corners.

Recruit Me
2013 Field Hockey Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Melissa Sharpe

Melissa Sharpe After nine years as head coach of the Pride, Melissa Sharpe has continued the tradition of winning on the field hockey turf, posting an impressive 130-68 record, good for a winning percentage of .656 at the helm of her alma mater. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Melissa Sharpe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3167

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.