Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Women's Swimming and Diving Finishes Second at NEWMAC Championships

Jennifer Thompson Complete Results

South Hadley, Mass. - February 20, 2011 - The Springfield College women's swimming team finished second at the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Swimming and Diving Championships on Sunday evening. MIT won the title for the first time in program history with 917.5 points, while the Pride placed second with 894.5 points.

At the conclusion of this evening’s final session, Springfield’s Kellie Pennington was honored with both the NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year and Rookie of the Year Awards.

By finishing second, Springfield failed to win the conference championship for the first time in 11 years.

MIT touched the wall first nine times en route to 917.5 points. The Engineers were followed by Springfield (894.5), the Coast Guard Academy (446), Wheaton College (359.5), Wellesley College (340), Clark University (299.5), WPI (202), Smith College (188), Babson College (115) and Mount Holyoke (113).

In the 1,650 free, Meghan Sisson placed second with an NCAA "B" cut time of 17:31.49, while Laura Hartford placed sixth in 17:57.41. Springfield had a pair of top eight finishers in the 200 back as Kerry Lynch placed sixth in 2:10.22 and Kelsey Poole took seventh in 2:10.82.

Springfield had three of the top four finishers in the 100 free, with Pennington leading the way. The freshman swam a school, meet, open, and pool record time of 50.89 as she automatically qualified for the NCAA Championships. Kaitlin Reilly took third in 52.91, with Caroline Kosciusko following right behind her in fourth in 53.05.

In the 200 fly, Meredith Trumbull touched in 2:10.48 to place fourth.

The Pride had a very strong showing in the 200 breast with four swimmers in the top eight. Jennifer Carignan touched third in 2:28.93, followed by teammate Janella Cuyler in fourth in 2:29.54. Anna Woodward followed in fifth in 2:29.73, while Nicole Stracqualursi placed eighth in 2:30.90.

The 3-meter diving competition featured four Springfield divers in the top eight. Kyra Breitweiser recorded a third-place finish with a 459.55, while classmate Jennifer Thompson took fourth with a 456.35. Courtney Keefe registered a mark of 424.80 to take sixth, and Paige Rhodes scored 389.20 points to finish eighth.

The Pride closed out the NEWMAC Championships with a win in the 400 free relay as Reilly, Aimee Doe, Kosciusko, and Pennigton touched in a school, meet, open, and pool record time of 3:29.68.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.