Springfield College Home > Athletics > Wrestling

No. 16 Wrestling Finishes Third of 14 Teams at Messiah Petrofes Invitational

Complete Results

GRANTHAM, Pa., December 2, 2006 - Springfield College had four of its wrestlers finish second in their respective weight classes as the Pride compiled a total of 121.5 team points to capture third place at this weekend's Petrofes Invitational hosted by Messiah College.

Heidelberg won the team title, compiling a two-day total of 173 team points. SUNY Brockport finished second with 144 points, Bridgewater State placed in fourth overall with 109 total team points, and Muhlenberg rounded out the top five with 97.5 points.

SC senior captain Mike Gaeta (Manalapan, N.J.) finished second overall in the 141-pound weight class, falling in the finals to Muhlenberg's Rob Kein in a close, 7-6 decision. Junior Chris DeBlock (Sparta, N.J.) also put up a strong showing this weekend, finishing second in the 149-pound division.

Pride junior Jake Tyler (Gouverneur, N.Y.) registered a solid weekend with a second-place finish at 165 pounds, and junior Elliott Smith (Richville, N.Y.) also brought home a second-place performance in the 184-pound weight class.

Another notable performance for SC came from senior Ryan Hannigan (Wyantskill, N.Y.), who came into the weekend ranked sixth for the tournament at 125 pounds and finished third.

The Pride will next host WPI in a dual-meet on Wednesday evening, December 6th, beginning at 7:30 p.m. in Blake Arena.

Recruit Me Wrestling Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Jason Holder

Head Coach Jason Holder Jason Holder will enter his third season as head wrestling coach in 2013. Holder had a standout first season at the helm of the Pride, leading Springfield to the NEWA Duals Championship and taking three wrestlers to the NCAA Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Jason Holder

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3276

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.