Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Avdoulos and Sobel Highlight NEWMAC Men's Swimming and Diving Postseason Honors

Greg Pearsall Springfield, Mass. - March 5, 2009 - Brian Sobel was named the NEWMAC Diver of the Year while coach Pete Avdoulos was named the Men's Diving Coach of the Year for the fourth time in the last five years as the conference announced its postseason honors. Six members of the Springfield College men's swimming and diving team were recognized individually as members of the NEWMAC All-Conference Team while three of Springfield's relay teams earned all-conference honors as well.

In the diving events, Sobel was named to the All-NEWMAC First Team and tabbed the Diver of the Year after winning both the one-meter (563.60) and three-meter (540.60) events. Teammate Matt Fitzgerald finished second in both events behind Sobel as he was named to the all-conference second team in the one-meter (482.15) and the three-meter (465.65) boards.

As for Avdoulos, he picked up top-coach honors for the fourth time in the last five years, including last year. Under his direction, the Pride had the top three finishers on both boards, including Sobel, who swept the competition en route to being named the top diver in the conference.

Greg Pearsall picked up All-NEWMAC First Team accolades in the 50 free after he touched first in 20.46. Pearsall also earned second-team honors after finishing second in the 200 free in 1:41.89 and the 100 free in 45.53.

Brian Way earned All-NEWMAC First Team honors in both the 200 IM (1:54.35) and 400 IM (4:06.13) as he claimed first in both races. In the 500 freestyle Andrew Blakesley was named to the all-conference second team as he placed second in 4:41.12. Rounding out the individual accolades, after placing second in the 100 breast in 58.94, Ryan Mackstutis was recognized as a member of the All-NEWMAC Second Team.

Three of Springfield's freestyle relay's earned All-NEWMAC Second Team honors over the weekend. The 200 freestyle freestyle relay team of Pearsall, Mackstutis, Blakesley, and Matt Manoni finished second in 1:23.08, while SC's 800 free relay also earned second-team accolades as 800 freestyle relay asAnthony Bruno, Blakesley, Way, and Pearsall finished in second in6:53.35. Finally, the 400 free relay of Bruno, Blakesley, Manoni, and Pearsall picked up second-team honors after touching in 3:04.00.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.