Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Seven Members of Women's Swimming and Diving Team Headed To NCAA Championships

Seven Members of Women's Swimming and Diving Team Headed To NCAA Championships Springfield, Mass. - March 6, 2009 - The Springfield College women's swimming and diving team will be sending seven members of its team to the 2009 NCAA Division III Women's Swimming and Diving Championships next week. The 28th Annual Championships will take place March 18-21, 2009 at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.

Springfield, which claimed it's ninth-straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) title this season, will send five swimmers and two divers to this year's national event.

Heading up the group will be three-time NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year Moira Price. Price enters the meet seeded number one in the 200 breast with the fastest time in the country to date, a 2:16.42. Price will also swim the 100 breast, where she is seeded eighth (1:04.14) and the 50 freestyle, where she is seeded 13th (:23.71).

NEWMAC Rookie of the Year, Kaitlin Reilly, has qualified to swim in three individual events in the Championships. Reilly is scheduled to swim the 50 free, which she qualified for with a time of :24.19, the 100 free (:52.78), and the 100 fly (:58.20).

The third swimmer who will swim in individual events will be Meg Cooney, who will swim both the 100 and 200 backstroke. Cooney enters the 200 back seeded 14th with a time of 2:04.37 and is seeded 26th in the 100 back with a :58.12.

As for the divers, juniors Michelle Reggio and Meghan Kijanka qualified to compete in both the one-meter and three-meter springboard competitions. Freshman Courtney Keefe was also named an alternative in the diving competition.

Springfield had five different relay's qualify for the nationals with it's 200 medley relay team of Cooney, Price, Reilly, and Caroline Kosciusko seeded 11th with a time of 1:45.70. The same four swimmers comprise the Pride's 400 medley relay, which enters seeded 13th with a time of 3:53.60. SC's 200 free relay of Price, Kosciusko, Jaclyn Van Waalwijk, and Reilly is also seeded 11th in the meet with a seed time of 1:35.65. The same four swimmers make up SC's 400 relay, which is ranked 19th with a qualifying time of 3:32.56. Springfield's 800 free relay also qualified and is seeded 16th with a time of 7:49.25.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.