Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Lacrosse

Men's Lacrosse Heads To Cortland For NCAA Second Round Showdown

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - May 8, 2008 - The Springfield College men's lacrosse team will travel to Upstate New York this weekend to take on Cortland State in the Divsion III Men's Lacrosse Tournament in a second-round showdown.

Last Time Out
Jake Beebe powered the Pride to a 17-2 win over the visiting Kean University Cougars in the first round of the 2008 Division III Men’s Lacrosse Tournament on Wednesday evening. Springfield’s Tyler Montgomery netted the first goal of the game just one minute into the contest and the Pride never looked back. Beebe finished with 10 points off five goals and five assists, while Joe Heney and Kyler Louer each added two goals and an assist in the victory. The 15-goal margin was the Pride’s largest margin of victory on the season.

The Series:
Cortland leads the all-time series, 12-5. In last season’s meeting Billy Fuchs scored six goals and assisted on two others as Cortland, ranked 16th in Division III, defeated Springfield College, 15-8, at Syracuse University's Carrier Dome. The game was the first of a tripleheader that also featured Syracuse vs. Johns Hopkins, and Le Moyne vs. C.W. Post. Beebe led the Pride with two goals and two assists, while Kyle Gable scored twice, and Tyler Montgomery added a goal and an assist. Tom Albano recorded 12 saves over the final three periods.

Near Record-Breaking Performance
Beebe, who notched five goals and five assists for 10 points in the contest, was one off the NCAA Division III Tournament record for points in a game. Rich Franz of Ohio Wesleyan tallied 11 points in 1991 for Ohio Wesleyan in a win over Washington & Lee.

Still Playing In May
For the seventh time in the last nine years, the Springfield College men’s lacrosse team will be playing in the NCAA Tournament. Below is a breakdown of the Pride’s previous trips to the NCAA Tournament.
May 7, 2008 First Round Springfield 17, Kean 2
May 13, 2006 Second Round Middlebury 17, Springfield 4
May 14, 2005 First Round Wesleyan 10, Springfield 7
May 16, 2004 First Round Stevens Inst. of Tech. 8, Springfield 4
May 10, 2003 First Round Middlebury 11, Springfield 9
May 9, 2001 First Round Springfield 11, Eastern Conn. 9
May 13, 2001 Second Round Gettysburg (PA) 16, Springfield 12
May 10, 2000 First Round Rochester Inst. of Tech. 13, Springfield 12 (OT)

The Great Eight:
Chris Sharpe was named the Pilgrim Lacrosse League’s Player of the Year after leading Springfield to the NCAA Tournament this season as Pilgrim League Champions. Sharpe was also named to the All-Conference First Team along with teammates Beebe, Montgomery, Sam Burrell, and Jason Farrell. On the All-Conference second team, the Pride landed three winners in Albano, Mike Smith, and Joe Malvezzi.

Second Half Shutdowns:
In the past three games, the Pride’s defense has been outstanding, giving up just 10 goals combined. However, its defense in the second half has been nothing short of sensational as it has allowed just one goal in 90 minutes of play in the second halves. The Pride allowed one goal to Lasell in the fourth quarter in the Pilgrim League Semifinals, before shutting out Wheaton in the Championship and holding Kean from finding the back of the cage in the opening game of the NCAA Tournament.

Recruit Me

2014 Springfield College Men's Lacrosse Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Keith Bugbee

Keith Bugbee Keith Bugbee enters his 31st season as head men's lacrosse coach at Springfield College in 2014. Under his direction, the Pride is one of the top programs in the country. Bugbee's coaching record stands at an impressive 327-157 (.676 winning percentage). Read more.

Contact Head Coach Keith Bugbee

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3154

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.