Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Cross Country

Men's Cross Country Takes Third at NEWMAC Championships

Complete Results

NORTHAMPTON, Mass., October 29, 2005 - Springfield College senior Meghan Young (Hurley, N.Y.) won the individual women’s championship. while junior Pat Hepper (Bernardsville, N.J.) and freshman Mike Griffin (Scarborough, Maine) earned All-Conference standings in the men’s race today at the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Cross Country Championship hosted by Smith College in Northampton.

Young, who has been named to the All-Conference Team (top 14 finishers) all four years she has competed, took her first conference championship in a time of 18:39 for the five-kilometer course. Her closest competitor, Megan Brousseau of Wheaton, finished 24 seconds behind Young in a time of 19:03. By winning the race, Young was named NEWMAC Runner of the Year.

Young was followed by sophomore Alyssa Brigham (Penacook, N.H.) (33rd place, 20:41), senior Jessie Zaccaro (Washingtonville, N.Y.) (41st, 20:54), junior Jackie Knoblock (Plymouth, Mass.) (46th, 20:59), and junior Alix Slayton (Ashburnham, Mass.) (61st, 21:32) rounded out the top five.

As a team, the Pride finished seventh in the ten-team field with 151 points. Wellesley won the meet (43 points), followed by Wheaton (83) and Smith (94).

On the men’s side, Hepper earned his second-straight All-Conference selection as he placed eighth by covering the eight-kilometer course in 26:51. Griffin earned his first All-NEWMAC selection by taking 14th place in a time of 27:12; Griffin was the fourth freshman to cross the line.

Sophomore Ian Wright (Colonie, N.Y.) was the third runner across the line for the Pride, taking 19th place overall as he crossed the line in 27:30. Wright was followed by senior captains Chris Hamel (Methuen, Mass.) and Scott Barton (Fort Plain, N.Y). Hamel and Barton finished 20th and 21st, in times of 27:36 and 27:37, respectively.

The Pride aggressively took the lead from the start of the race as eight SC runners led the first half mile. The Pride managed to hold on and finish third with 73 points in the seven-team field. MIT won the meet with 25 points, followed closely by Coast Guard Academy (33 points).

Both men’s and women’s teams travel to Connecticut College on Saturday, November 5, for the ECAC Championships.

Recruit Me

Men's Cross Country Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Bryan Brown

Head Coach Bryan Brown Bryan Brown will enter his third season as the head men's cross country coach in the fall of 2013. Brown, who was a former All-American at Springfield College in track, is the reigning NEWMAC Coach of the Year after leading Springfield to its second-straight second-place finish at the conference championships a year ago . Read more.

Contact Head Coach Brown

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.5418

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.