Springfield College Home > Athletics > Football

2014 Captains Named at Football Banquet, Weiss Named Team MVP

Sam Weiss Springfield, Mass. -- December 11, 2013 -- Captains for the 2014 football team were named by Head Coach Mike DeLong at the Springfield College Football Awards Banquet. Also, many awards were presented, including Team MVP.

Last month, Springfield completed its fifth consecutive winning season, finishing with a 7-3 overall record. The Pride finished the year 3-3 in the Liberty League. Springfield ended its 2013 campaign with a 28-27 victory over Norwich University in the ECAC Division III North Atlantic Bowl Championship game at Amos Alonzo Stagg Field.

Always one of the highlights of this event is the naming of the upcoming season's captains. In 2014 there will be five captains. They will include returning captain Max Nacewicz, a senior defensive end from Newtown, Conn., plus senior offensive linemen Jordan D'Onofrio (Manchester, N.H.) and Mike Serricchio (Stamford, Conn.) and senior linebackers Mike Dublin (Portsmouth, R.I.) and Dan Macalena (Congers, N.Y.).

Several major awards were distributed during the afternoon. Senior Sam Weiss (Glasser, N.J.) who led the team on defense in interceptions (3) and tackles (71), was named the Overall Team MVP. The team's Defensive MVP was Macalena, who led the team in tackles for loss and sacks.

The Norman Keith Scholar Award was presented to senior Scott Leech (Lincoln, R.I.) who was recently named to the Liberty League's All-Academic Team. The Ossie Solem/Ted Dunn/Nate Osur Brotherhood Award (for exemplifying the ideals of the humanics philosophy) was shared by seniors Bryan MacDonald (Rocky Hill, Conn.) and Brodie Quinn (Pittsfield, Mass.).

The Howard Resnick Coaches Award went to senior Mike MacDonald (North Dighton, Mass.). Earlier this week, MacDonald was selected to the D3football.com All-East Region Third Team. He also earned New England Football Writers Division II/III All-New England honors. The Jason Bednarz Most Improved Player Award went to senior Pat O'Connor (Sayville, N.Y.).

The Most Courageous Player went Dublin. The King Roach Award was presented to senior Sean Degnan (Irvington, N.Y.) for offensive lineman most top plays. Special Teams Player of the Year was given to senior Mike Varvara (Hopewell Junction, N.J.) whose blocked extra point attempt proved to be the difference in the Pride’s ECAC bowl win.

Finally, Scout Team Awards were presented to freshmen Brian Gallagher (Mahopac, N.Y.) and Nick Campbell (Wakefield, Mass.). Gallagher won the Maroon Award for defense, while Campbell took the White Award for offense.

Recruit Me

2013 Football Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Find Us On Facebook

Head Coach Mike DeLong

Head Coach Mike DeLong Mike DeLong enters his 32nd season as a head football coach in the fall of 2013, including his 30th year as the head coach at his alma mater, Springfield College. To date, DeLong currently has the second-most career wins of any active Division III football coach. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Mike Delong

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3156

Springfield College Tailgating Policy
Athletic Equipment
Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.