Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Pennington, Thompson, and Two Relays Qualify for Thurday's Evening Session on Day 2 of NCAA Championship

Kellie Pennington Indianapolis, Ind. - March 20, 2014 - The Springfield College women's swimming & diving team performed well in the preliminaries of the second day of the NCAA Division III Championship on Thursday.

On the one-meter board, Jennifer Thompson (Cheshire, Conn.) finished sixth in the prelims after registering an 11-dive score of 409.45. By qualifying for Thursday's evening session, it ensures Thompson's sixth All-America recognition of her career.

In the evening session, the Pride will be represented by Kellie Pennington (Monson, Mass.) in the finals of the 200 free and the 200 free relay team and 400 medley relay team, both in the consolation finals.

Pennington finished strong in the 200 free preliminaries, finishing third in her heat and seventh overall with a time of 1:51.05. With a seventh place finish, the senior qualified for Thursday night's finals which will get underway shortly after 6:00 p.m.

Pennington was one of three Springfield swimmers in the women's 200 free. Ashleigh Monroe (Southbury, Conn.) swam in lane five of the second heat. She made a strong come-back late to finish second in her heat with a time of 1:53.58, but was disqualified for a false start. Callie Phillips (East Longmeadow, Mass.) also swam in the 200 free, in lane eight of the third heat. She placed 33rd overall with a time of 1:54.19.

The 200 free relay team of Pennington, Nicole Scotto (Southbury, Conn.), Kelsey Poole (Westfield, Mass.) and Delaney Dyjak (Ludlow, Mass.) finished 13th overall in the competition, advancing to Thursday night's consolation finals. In the day's opening event, the team swam a combined time of 1:36.22 in lane two of the second heat. Pennington opened the race with a heat-leading split of 23.10. Scotto followed up with a second leg of 24.30, Poole swam a 24.87 and Dyjak swam an anchor leg of 23.95.

The 400 medley relay team of Pennington, Poole, Christiana Greco (Wilbraham, Mass.) and Emily Medeiros (Wakefield, Mass.), seeded 10th overall finished 16th with a combined time of 3:51.03. The team swam in lane six of the third heat and qualified for the consolation finals this evening.

The Pride had two swimmers in the 100 fly preliminaries. Dyjak swam in lane six of the second heat, finishing with a time of 59.74, good for 47th overall. Greco swam in the fourth heat, in lane eight, placing 25th overall and sixth in her heat with a time of 56.97, just .07 off her qualifying time.

Phillips, swimming in lane eight of the third heat of the 400 IM prelims, finished in 4:32.41 to place 23rd overall.

Diver Jen Thompson (Cheshire, Conn.) will compete in the preliminary round of the women's one-meter board this afternoon, looking to qualify for the finals on Thursday evening. This is Thompson's fourth appearance at the NCAA Championships.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.