Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

TEN IN A ROW - Women's Swimming and Diving Wins 10th-Straight NEWMAC Title

2010 NEWMAC Women's Swimming and Diving Champions Complete Results

Wellesley, Mass. - February 21, 2010 - The Springfield College women's swimming and diving team won its 10th-straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship on Sunday evening behind an outstanding weekend of performances both in the pool and on the diving boards. On the final day, Meg Cooney won the 200 back, while the Pride had four of the top five finishers on the three-meter board.

The Pride amassed 839 points in the three-day event, easily outdistancing runner-up MIT with 694 points.Wheaton captured third with 566, followed by Coast Guard (449), Clark (382), Wellesley (284), WPI (203), Mount Holyoke (171), Babson (134) and Smith (102).

The Pride's depth in the diving events was terrific as it placed four in the top five on the three-meter on Sunday night. Michelle Reggio finished second (449.65) and was followed by teammates Meghan Kijanka (438.50), Courtney Keefe (425.75), and Paige Rhodes (416.55).

In the 1650 free, the Pride had three of the top five finishers as it started the evening off on the right foot. Meghan Sisson's second-place time of 17:32.68 met NCAA 'B' Cut standards, while Meghan Feran finished fourth after touching in 17:54.66. Laura Hartford rounded out the Pride's scoring in the top five as she took fifth in 17:55.24.

Meg Cooney defended her title in the 200 back as she picked up her second individual win of the 2010 championships with a 'B' cut time of 2:08.32.

The Pride placed three in the top eight of the 100 free as Aimee Doe finished fourth in 53.38, Kaitlin Reilly fifth in 54.07, and Caroline Kosciusko in eighth with a time of 54.57.

The 200 breast saw Jennifer Carignan take fourth after she touched in 2:30.83, while in the 200 fly, Meredith Trumbull swam to a third-place finish at a 2:12.40 clip, and Molly Potter placed fifth in 2:13.59.

Springfield finished second in the final event of the weekend as it took second in the 400 relay behind Doe, Jaclyn Van Waalwijk, Kosciusko, and Reilly's time of 3:35.15.

Final Standings
1. Springfield College 839
2. MIT 694
3. Wheaton College 566
4. U. S. Coast Guard Academy 449
5. Clark University 382
6. Wellesley College 284
7. WPI 203
8. Mount Holyoke College 171
9. Babson College 134
10. Smith College 102

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.