Springfield College Home > Athletics > Golf

Golf Finishes Third at NECC Championships

Craig DiFrano Complete Results

Groton, Conn. – October 11, 2009 - In its first season as an associate member of the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC), Babson College won the 2009 NECC Men’s Golf Championships on Sunday afternoon at Shennecossett Golf Course. The defending champion Pride finished third out of seven teams.

While windy conditions made for higher final round scores, Babson recorded the best team score of the day at 314 and finished the 36-hole tournament with a total of 608. The Beavers’ Bryan Eger was the individual medalist for the tournament and was named NECC Golfer of the Year. He shot 79 in the final round and finished with a two-day total of 149.

Becker College freshman Branden Parkhouse was named NECC Golf Rookie of the Year as the low rookie finisher. He shot 85 in the final round and tied for ninth overall at 163.

Becker’s Brian Gorman was named NECC Golf Coach of the Year, as voted upon by all seven conference head coaches. The Hawks were also awarded the NECC Team Sportsmanship Award.

Becker College shot 328 for the final round and notched a two-day total of 643 to finish as runner-up. Rounding out the team scoring were Springfield College (659), Mitchell College (683), Elms College (696), Daniel Webster College (729) and Newbury College (839).

Eger, who vaulted to the top of the leader board with Saturday’s low round of 70, edged teammate Camilo Perlaza by one stroke for the individual title. Perlaza was one of three golfers to shoot 78 in the final round, the low number for the day.

Becker’s Ben Malone (Westborough, Mass.) also shot 78 and placed third at 153, followed by Babson’s Fernando Pineres at 156, Joseph Young at 157 and Matt Foley at 159. Rounding out the top 10 individuals were Springfield’s Craig DiFranco at 160, Elms’ Andrew Sullivan at 162 and David Pianki at 163 and Becker’s Parkhouse and David Rixham at 163.

The top-10 finishers and ties all earned all-conference honors. Eger, Perlaza, Malone, Pineres and Young were named to the NECC All-Conference First Team while Foley, DiFranco, Sullivan, Pianki, Parkhouse and Rixham were named to the NECC All-Conference Second Team.

For the Pride, Tom Sangeloty finished tied for 13th with a 165, while Alexander Brown took 16th with a 168. The duo of Jared Slingerland and J.R. Balogun tied for 21st with scores of 177.

Golf Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Joe Eadie

Joe Eadie Joe Eadie enters his 20th season as the head men's golf coach at Springfield College in the fall of 2012. Eadie is the head golf professional at the Fenway Golf Range in nearby East Longmeadow, and is in the process of becoming a PGA Professional. He also lead the Pride to their first NCAA Division III Championship in program history. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Joe Eadie

E-Mail | Cell Phone: 413.478.5133; Coach Eadie would prefer you to CALL.

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.