Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Women's Swimming and Diving Captures Ninth-Straight NEWMAC Championship

2009 NEWMAC Women's Swimming and Diving Champions Complete Results

Cambridge, Mass. - February 22, 2009 - Paced by Swimmer of the Year Moira Price and Rookie of the Year Kaitlin Reilly, Springfield College raced to its ninth consecutive New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) women’s swimming and diving championship on Sunday at MIT’s Zesiger Pool.

Wellesley senior Kate Sorenson was victorious on both boards during the weekend and was named NEWMAC Diver of the Year.

For Price, it was another accolade in her illustrious career as the senior was tabbed the top swimmer in the conference for the third-straight year.

Moira Price and Kaitlin Reilly NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year Moira Price, Diver of the Year Kate Sorenson, and Rookie of the Year, Kaitlin Reilly

During the last session, Megan Cooney and Price each secured NCAA “A” cuts while winning their respective individual events in meet record time. Conney split 2:04.37 to win the 200 back, while Price also set a NEWMAC open record with a clip of 2:16.42 in the 200 breast. With her time, Price re-set her school record, breaking her previous best time from last season by over a second.

Coast Guard authored a pair of First Team All-Conference performances as Kimberly Shadwick won for the third time on the weekend with a victory in the 1650 free. Heidi Gayman took top honors in the 100 free, while both competitors earned NCAA “B” cuts. MIT’s Jen Chao set a meet record en route to a four-second victory in the 200 fly.

Springfield also had three of the top five divers in the three-meter competition, with Michelle Reggio finishing second with a score of 483.95. She was followed by classmate Meghan Kijanka, who placed third with a 441.85, and teammate Courtney Keefe, who recorded a 412.10 for fifth place.

In the final race of the night, Springfield capped its historic run with a victory in the 400 free relay. The team of Reilly, Aimee Doe, Kallie Pottle, and Price split 3:32.56 in setting a new NEWMAC open and meet record. The Pride also set a new school record, breaking the previous record from 2006.

Team Standings
1. Springfield 872.5
2. MIT 660
3. Wheaton 640.5
4. Coast Guard 461
5. Clark 281
6. Wellesley 259
7. Babson 207
8. WPI 202.5
9. Smith 175.5
10. Mount Holyoke 88

NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year
Moira Price, Springfield

NEWMAC Diver of the Year

Kate Sorenson, Wellesley

NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Rookie of the Year
Kaitlin Reilly, Springfield

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.