Springfield College Home > Athletics > Football

Two Pride Football Players Named to the ECAC Northeast Division III All-Star Team

CAPE COD, MASS, Dec. 9, 2005 – Two members of the Springfield College football squad were named to the ECAC Division III Northeast All-star team. Senior offensive lineman Jason Benguche (Housatonic, Mass.) and junior linebacker Andrew Madigan (New Britain, Conn.) were both named to the first-team.

Benguche, who was also named to the Empire 8 first-team on Nov.16 and All New England Division II-III first-team Nov. 17, was a major reason why the Pride was ranked third nationally in average rushing yards per-game. Benguche led an offensive line that cleared the way for SC rushers to average 339.6 yards per-game.

Madigan, also a member of the Empire 8 first-team, led the Pride in numerous defensive categories. Madigan led the team with 105 total tackles, 52 more than anyone else on the team. He also led the squad with 53 solo tackles and 52 assists. Madigan also had one interception on the year in SC’s thrilling 50-49 victory over Western Connecticut State University (10/7) and blocked the only kick of the year for the Pride, in a victory over Norwich (11/12).

2005 ECAC Division III Northeast All-Stars

Player Of The Year: Don Thibodeau, Maine Maritime Academy
Rookie Of The Year: Jordan Capitanio, Western New England College

First Team Offense:
OL – Joe Crowe, Maine Maritime Academy
OL – Jason Benguche, Springfield College
OL – Brian Dubiel, Trinity College
OL – Billy Florence, Bridgewater State University
WR – Jeremy Gaucher, Worcester State College
WR – Jeff Nolin, Bowdoin College
QB – Adam Camobreco, Bridgewater State College
RB – Brenden Kavey, Bridgewater State College
RB – Don Thibodeau, Maine Maritime Academy

First Team Defense:
DB – Charles Gibbs, Curry College
DB – Danny Harris, Worcester State College
DB – Kevin Quinn, Trinity College
DB – Dee Whitehead, Fitchburg State College
DL – Jimmy Baker, Norwich University
DL – Michael Blair, Trinity College
DL – Mike Sirignano, Bridgewater State College
DL – Scott Tracey, Fitchburg State College
LB – Mike Bleakley, UMass-Dartmouth
LB – Frank Famularo, Fitchburg State College
LB – Andrew Madigan, Springfield College
LB – Jim Fennelly, Westfield State College

First Team Special Teams:
K – Brendan Fulmer, Williams College
RS – Charles Gibbs, Curry College

Honorable Mention:
WR – Mark Hannon, Amherst College
DB – Nick Zieler, Amherst College
DL – Chris Decembrele, Tufts University
LB – Christian Allen, Trinity College
LB – Coleman Hutzler, Middlebury College
LB – Avon Morgan, Trinity College
Recruit Me

2013 Football Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Find Us On Facebook

Head Coach Mike DeLong

Head Coach Mike DeLong Mike DeLong enters his 32nd season as a head football coach in the fall of 2013, including his 30th year as the head coach at his alma mater, Springfield College. To date, DeLong currently has the second-most career wins of any active Division III football coach. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Mike Delong

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3156

Springfield College Tailgating Policy
Athletic Equipment
Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.