Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Cross Country

Women's Cross Country Finishes Seventh of 10 Teams at NEWMAC Championships

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass., October 28, 2006 – Coast Guard won its first-ever women’s cross country championship, while the MIT men clinched its ninth consecutive title today in the NEWMAC Championships on the Mount Holyoke College cross country course.

Coast Guard placed three runners in the top fourteen to win the five-kilometer run with 54 points. Junior JoEllen Arons led the Bears with a time of 20:02.70, placing her fourth in the field of 132 harriers. Defending champion Wellesley College finished second with 66 points. Wellesley first-year Clare Egan was the individual winner, crossing the line in 19:45.30 to gain both Runner of the Year and Rookie of the Year accolades.

Eight MIT runners landed in the top fourteen to lead the Engineers to their ninth straight championship. MIT tallied just 26 points for the race. Sophomore Jake Ruzevick powered the Engineers with a time of 27:02.90 to place second among 105 finishers. Coast Guard senior Michael Flint led the pack, completing the eight-kilometer course in just 26:44.70 to claim Runner of the Year honors. The Bears placed second as a team with 63 points, just one point ahead of Springfield College. MIT’s Johannes Schneider was named Rookie of the Year as the top-performing first-year (5th overall) in a time of 27:22.20.

Women's Team Results:
1. Coast Guard 54
2. Wellesley 66
3. Smith 77
4. MIT 82
5. Wheaton 84
6. WPI 177
7. Springfield 218
8. Mount Holyoke 219
9. Clark 252
10. Babson 264

All-NEWMAC Team:
1. Clare Egan Wellesley 19:45.30
2. Megan Brousseau Wheaton 19:55.40
3. Nora Youngs Smith 20:00.90
4. JoEllen Arons Coast Guard 20:02.70
5. Maria Monks MIT 20:08.80
6. Caitlin Quinn Coast Guard 20:13.10
7. Aidan Van Cleef Coast Guard 20:14.30
8. Hana Adaniya MIT 20:22.30
9. Alyssa Brigham Springfield 20:25.20
10. Anna Cressotti Smith 20:25.40
11. Amanda Learned WPI 20:30.60
12. Devaja Shafer Wellesley 20:31.70
13. Rachael Blanchard Wellesley 20:32.70
14. Christine Dzialo Smith 20:36.40

Runner of the Year:
Clare Egan Wellesley

Rookie of the Year:
Clare Egan Wellesley

Recruit Me

Team Links

Head Coach Jim Pennington

Jim Pennington Jim Pennington enters his 29th season as head coach of the Springfield College women’s cross country and track and field teams in 2013. Under Pennington’s direction, the Pride has recorded seven top 20 finishes at the NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Track & Field Championships, and seven top 15 finishes at the NCAA Cross Country Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Pennington

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3351

Find Us On Facebook

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.